8 Limbs of Yoga: N I Y A M A S

September 9, 2017 0 Comments

The next limb in Raja yoga is niyamas . In my previous posts I discussed the 5 major yamas as outlined by Pantanjali (there are other yamas present in other texts I may come back to them) but for today we will discuss the niyamas The niyamas consist of personal observances that ensure the body and mind remain void of contamination once they have been purified by practicing the yamas. Like the yamas, there are 5 main niyamas. They serve as a guideline of “dos”- put these things into daily practice until they become habitual. They help to build a positive and healthy relationship with the self. Together the yamas and the niyamas form a solid foundation in which a yoga practice can be built. Click on the links below to learn about each!

The Five Niyamas are:

Saucha: cleanliness

Santosa: contentment

Tapas: heat; spiritual austerities

Svadhyaya: study of the sacred scriptures and of one’s self

Isvara pranidhana: surrender to God (Coming soon)

The paragraph above is a portion of on on going exploration about the 8 Limbs of Yoga. The original can be found on instagram by searching the tag #8limbsdaily

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *